Monique F. Leroux elected new president of the International Co-operative Alliance

13 Nov 2015 | Archives

The International Co-operative Alliance has today elected Monique F. Leroux (Canada) as its new president. Ms. Leroux is an Alliance board member with a background in finance and will be president of the

Alliance for the 2015-2017 term.

Antalya, 13 November 2015 – At Towards 2020, the Alliance’s 2015 global conference and general assembly, taking place in Antalya, Turkey, members elected Ms Monique F. Leroux, as their President  for the 2015-2017 term. Ms. Leroux is the Chair of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer of Desjardins Group, the leading co-operative financial group in Canada and the fifth strongest financial institution in the world. During her term, Desjardins Group has shown sustained growth reaching assets of $250 billion while remaining strongly committed to its co-operative values.

Ms. Leroux also chairs the boards of directors of Caisse centrale Desjardins, Desjardins Financial Corporation and the Desjardins Foundation, in addition to her role as the chief executive officer of Desjardins Group and its subsidiaries. She also sits on the board of Crédit industriel et commercial (CIC), a subsidiary of Crédit Mutuel.

As chair of the CQCM (Quebec association of cooperatives), Ms. Leroux launched an ambitious plan to grow the co-operative movement by 20,000 jobs by 2020. She also contributed to the creation of CMC (Canada), a large national co-operative association.

Very active as a board member of the Alliance, Ms Leroux chairs the IARAC committee. She is also a member of the executive committee of EACB and CIBP as well as founder and chair of the board of the Quebec International Summit of Cooperatives.

Ms. Leroux has received numerous honours, including the Order of Canada, the Chevalier of the Légion d’Honneur (France), the Woodrow Wilson Award (United States), personality of Francophonie économique, and holds honorary doctorates from eight Canadian universities. She was recently inducted as a Fellow of the Institute of Corporate Directors for her outstanding leadership in business and governance. Also committed to public policy, Ms. Leroux is a member of the Canadian Prime Minister’s Advisory Committee and participates in the B20 and B7/G7.

Ms. Leroux supports a host of not-for-profit organisations and chairs the Desjardins Foundation committed to young people education.

Ms. Leroux, on her election: “I am profoundly honoured and moved to have been elected President of the International Cooperative Alliance. My thanks go out to our members across the world. I thank them for their support and the trust they invest in me.”




About the International Co-operative Alliance

The International Co-operative Alliance is an independent, non-governmental organisation established in 1895 to unite, represent and serve co-operatives worldwide. The Alliance provides a global voice and forum for knowledge, expertise and co-ordinated action for and about co-operatives.

The members of the Alliance are international and national co-operative organisations from all sectors of the economy. The Alliance has members from 100 countries, representing close to one billion individuals worldwide.

The International Co-operative Alliance publishes each year the World Co-operative Monitor. According to the 2015 edition of the Monitor (http://www.monitor.coop) the world’s top 300
co-operatives have 2.4 trillion USD in turnover. Co-operatives generate partial or full-time employment for at least 250 million individuals worldwide, either in or within the scope of
co-operatives, making up almost 12% of the entire employed population of the G20 countries.



Alliance media contact

Jan Schiettecatte
Communications Director
Office: +32 2 743 10 30
Mobile: +32 478 84 51 30

Pour lire d'autres articles

To read other articles


Pour recevoir les nouvelles du secteur coopératif et mutualiste


To receive co-op/mutual sector news